The Eight-Year-Old Legend Book

The Eight-Year-Old Legend Book
Isabel Wyatt By (author)
In Stock
Order Qty:
Review Order

In Stock
Floris Books

Limited ***

5.5 X 8.5 in
120 pg



This collection of stories is based upon tales told by the Buddha to his monks 2,500 years ago. Isabel Wyatt’s enchanting retelling conjures up a rich world of Eastern legend, ruled by courtly kings and sages and populated by brave princes, faithful elephants, and cunning monkeys. The stories tell of great adventures and heroes, of danger and courage, and, most important, of how wisdom and thoughtfulness always triumph over selfishness and greed. 

The Eight-Year-Old Legend Book was compiled for children around the age of eight—children who are embarking increasingly on their own adventures in life and learning to become smart and courageous.

(Ages 7 – 10 years)

∞ ∞ ∞


The Prince Who Ate Swords 
How Milk-White Flew 
The Lame Cat and the Potter 
The King’s Friend 
The Ape-king 
The Sneeze that Won a Wife 
Prince Bowman 
Monkey Fat 
The Lotus Garland 
The Boy Who Found Water 
The Speech of Beasts 
Prince Grit-in-the-Eye 
Rats at the Lute 
Prince Sun and Princess Moon 
Big Sage and Little Sage 
The Four Dangers


“For anyone who likes myths and folk tales, this book fulfills the need admirably…well worth buying.” —Books for Keeps, no. 179 

“The stories are gently paced and good for reading aloud.” —Janet DowlingThe School Librarian, winter 2009 

“A welcome change from the traditional stories we hear.... The tales are refreshingly uncomplicated.” —Armadillo Magazine Online, Dec. 2009

Author Bio

Isabel Wyatt (1901-1992) was born in England and spent many years teaching young children. Until her retirement in 1965, she was codirector of studies at Hawkwood College, Gloucestershire. She wrote numerous books for children.